Wednesday, August 17, 2011

11th Annual Poetry Contest

11th Annual Poetry Contest!

$100 First Prize

Roanoke, VA – Virginia’s Roanoke Valley Branch of the National League of American Pen Women, winner of the 2009 Perry Kendig Award, is pleased to announce its 11th Annual Poetry Competition.

Proceeds from the Poetry Competition fund an annual scholarship, given to adult women who have returned to school.

Postmark deadline for entries is August 15, 2011. Cost per poem is $5.00; make checks payable to Roanoke Valley Branch, NLAPW. Prizes are $100, $75, $50 and Honorable Mention $5. Rules are available at Entries which do not adhere to the rules will be disqualified.

Rene Parks Lanier, Jr., Professor of English emeritus at Radford University, will judge the poems. Professor Lanier served for many years as Poet-in-the-Schools at numerous Virginia counties and has been published in many small press and academic magazines. He also served five years as president of the Appalachian Writers' Association.

Here are the complete rules:

Entry Deadline: Postmark August 15, 2011

Poems will be accepted from May 15, 2011 to August 15, 2011

Any Form
Line Limit: 40*


1) Only original, unpublished poetry accepted. Websites are considered publishing.*

2) Submit 2 copies of each poem, typed on 8 ½" x 11" paper, Times New Roman 12 point type, single space, flush left, black ink. No bold in text. Name, address, telephone number and e-mail address on only one copy.* Entry by e-mail is not allowed.

3) Contest entry grants permission for a one-time non-exclusive right to publish winning entries in any future Roanoke NLAPW publications.

4) Winners will be notified by October 15, 2011.

5) Entry Fee: $5.00 per entry*. No limit to number of entries but payment must accompany each entry. Make checks payable to Roanoke Valley Branch, NLAPW.

6) Prizes: $100, $75, $50 and Honorable Mention $5.

7) Winning poems will be read at the November 2011 meeting of Roanoke NLAPW. Proceeds from the contest will be used to help fund a scholarship.

8) Names of award winners will be available on the website,, only. Poems will not be returned.

Mail entries to:

Co-Chairman, Peggy Shifflett
700 Cherrywood Road
Salem, VA 24153